Snoopy Tennis – But Why?

Do you ever think about a game that you loved playing as a kid but now that you’re older, you realize it was actually incredibly dull? For me, that game is Snoopy Tennis for the Game Boy Color.

220px-Snoopy_Tennis.jpg

I blame the purchase of this game on my obsession with Peanuts characters.

Although my brother and I will occasionally go to our local park and play tennis, I don’t actually know how to play tennis. So just starting from there, the rules of Snoopy Tennis meant nothing to me, especially as an 8 year old.

I’m not even sure why Peanuts characters are playing tennis but here we are. If there’s any true inspiration for Snoopy Tennis at all other than slapping some popular characters on a sports game to sell, though, it’s possibly this short of Snoopy getting frustrated trying to play tennis.

Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 2.47.33 PM
This video is more fun than Snoopy Tennis

I googled it to see if there was possibly any story behind the game, like the Peanuts gang has to compete in the French Open to stop a dogcatcher from stealing Snoopy but nope. For that matter, the Wikipedia page is pretty sparse.

But on to my experience playing Snoopy Tennis.

I still remember seeing this game in the locked video game case at Wal-Mart and convincing my mother that I needed it. I’m choosing to believe I taken in by the box art, which I actually still love.

But I was so excited to get this game home and play it. So I opened the box and put it in my Game Boy Color and I could not have been more flabbergasted. It was exactly what the game is titled and exactly not what I thought it would be.

Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 2.57.25 PM.png

I’m not sure what I expected but it wasn’t something so straightforward. This is literally Snoopy and Co playing tennis.

There’s nothing more to the gameplay than hitting the ball back and forth. It’s literally tennis. No fun gimmicks like Mario Tennis, just whack the ball across the screen/court.

It was so repetitive.

Snoopy Tennis did have some pretty fun one player modes though.

Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 3.02.28 PM.png

And the characters were absolutely adorable. Out of the original, non-unlockable characters, Franklin had the best stats so I always played as him even though I really just wanted to be Snoopy.

Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 3.02.49 PM.png

There were even unlockable characters! Marcie, Rerun, Pigpen and Woodstock. I believe I only ever unlocked Woodstock because I was not about to play through that Championship mode another three times. It wasn’t fun enough to do all that.

Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 3.20.20 PM.png

My favorite court to play on was always Backyard.

Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 3.15.38 PM.png

Gameplay screenshots come from lucas boy’s video.

Did anyone else ever play this game? If so what did you think?

Let me know in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

