Pokemon GO! and Going and Going (Outside)

I just started playing Pokemon GO last Thursday so it’s safe to say I’m pretty late to this party.

A little backstory on why I didn’t start playing last summer: my phone didn’t have enough storage for me to be able to download the app. Womp womp it’s a pretty anticlimactic story.

By the time I got a new phone in November, I had completely forgotten about the game. Until last week. Since I was in a podcast lull after listening to RHAP Up’s RuPaul’s Drag Race Season 9 and MTV’s The Challenge Invasion recap podcasts back to back, I needed something to listen to on my way to and from work. So I dropped back in on It’s Super Effective and they were talking about Pokemon GO and I realized I can actually play it now!

I downloaded the app and had absolutely no clue what to do. Fun!

But eventually I figured out how to customize my character and changed from that ugly default outfit.

IMG_1465.PNG

Then I got to GOing!

IMG_1433.PNG IMG_1418.PNG IMG_1435.PNG

So far, I’ve caught 57 Pokemon and seen 87 and traversed quite a lot of ground seeking more.

And that’s honestly been my favorite part. Just going on walks and seeing what I can discover in the game. I’ve started going to one of the local parks in the mornings before I go to work and there’s several Pokestops at a  college close to my job that I swing by in the afternoons.

Even if Pokemon GO has done nothing else for me (aside from drain my phone battery), it’s helped me get outside.

Here’s my Pokedex so far:

IMG_1466.PNG IMG_1467.PNG IMG_1468.PNG IMG_1470.PNG IMG_1471.PNG IMG_1472.PNG

Does anyone else still play? If so, how many Pokemon have you caught? Also, did anyone go to the disastrous Pokemon GO Fest this weekend? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

One thought on “Pokemon GO! and Going and Going (Outside)

Leave a Reply

