You’re killing me, Ivy. Literally

It’s been a long time since I’ve been truly frustrated with a video game. But playing Batman: Arkham City on new game plus is really taking me there.

I haven’t been playing video games much over the past few months because I just haven’t had time, between work and traveling and just doing other stuff. Therefore, I haven’t had any opportunities to be frustrated by a video game and completely stopped in my tracks from progressing.

But on Sunday night, I picked up where I left off on new game plus in Arkham City.

Everything was going fine until I got to the the first Catwoman segment where Selina has to fight three levels of Poison Ivy’s henchmen before reaching Ivy to talk to her.

Let me say here, even before I took a brief gaming hiatus, it has been a very long time since I was truly frustrated with a video game to the point of wanting to throw the controller across the room.

Then I got hit with under-Ivy’s-power henchmen and no Counter warnings.

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 10.23.06 AM.png
Ain’t that the truth

I’d been playing just fine as Batman, not having the Counter warnings hadn’t been a problem at all. And I don’t remember struggling with this part in the regular game. But it’s completely kicking my butt now.

I tried to beat the three levels for probably 30 minutes on Sunday night before giving up. It was even worse when I’d reach the top level then up end dying.

I played again Monday night, figuring that if I went in with a fresh mind, I could beat it fairly easily. HA HA! Not a chance. Again I spent more time than I’d like to admit trying to defeat those stupid henchmen.

I’m not even bad when I play as Catwoman! Which makes the situation all the more irritating.

On a final note, I’m playing the Return to Arkham version of City and they really did Ivy dirty with the “remaster.” Her character model looks like she got punched in the eyes.

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 10.23.27 AM.png

This was really just an excuse for me to rant about the part of a video game I’m stuck at.

What’s the most frustrating experience you’ve ever had getting stuck in a video game? How long did it take you to get passed it? Let me know in the comments!

Screenshots taken from here.

Leave a Reply

