Nintendo Announces SNES Classic

Are you ready for some intense 16-bit, 90s-era flashbacks? Hold onto your neon fanny packs, everyone!

On Monday, Nintendo announced its newest mini console, the Super NES Classic Edition, out later this year!

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 12.45.37 PM.png
I know this picture is supposed to show how compact the Super NES Classic is but I really hate these console-in-hand pictures.

The SNES Classic will include 21 classic games:

  1. Super Mario World
  2. Super Mario Kart
  3. Donkey Kong Country
  4. EarthBound
  5. Super Metroid
  6. Yoshi’s Island
  7. Kirby Super Star
  8. Kirby’s Dream Course
  9. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
  10. Mega Man X
  11. Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
  12. Super Punch-Out!!
  13. Super Ghouls n’ Ghosts
  14. Final Fantasy III
  15. F-ZERO
  16. Secret of Mana
  17. Street Fighter II Turbo: Hyper Fighting
  18. Super Castlevania IV
  19. Contra III: The Alien Wars
  20. Star Fox
  21. Star Fox 2

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 12.40.37 PM.png

Some fun news from this list: Star Fox 2 is a full sequel to Star Fox that was completed but never released. This marks the first time a full version has ever been released for play.

The SNES Classic will be available in the US on Sept. 29, 2017, at a price of $79.99. It comes with two wired Super NES Classic controllers.

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 12.39.09 PM.png

When I saw the announcement for the SNES Classic, I was both surprised and not surprised. I knew there were rumblings of Nintendo actually continuing with the Mini Classic line after the NES Classics were such a success and then were discontinued earlier this year. I just was not expecting Nintendo to actually continue with the Mini Classic line, even though I already made wishlists for both the Nintendo 64 Classic and GameCube Classic. And I especially didn’t think they would put out another classic console so soon. This is a pleasant surprise, though, and I hope there’s actually enough product this time to meet demand.

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 12.42.28 PM.png

I was fortunate enough to get an NES Classic when they launched last November but I’m not sure if I’ll try to snag a SNES Classic this year.

Honestly, a SNES is the one Nintendo home console I never owned and I really have no desire to own one now. The only SNES games I’ve ever played are Super Mario World and Yoshi’s Island and I played both of those on my GameBoy Advance, rather than the original console. While some of the games are definitely ones that pique my interest and indeed launched gaming series that I enjoy, I’m not sure this is the toy/console for me. But we’ll see once September comes around.

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 12.46.36 PM.png

What do you think about the announcement of the SNES Classic? Surprised or did you expect it? Which games are you most excited for? Are there any that were left out that you wish made the cut? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

